Tags

  • Krispy Kreme – The Facts

    Krispy Kreme – The Facts

    Please see below the statement from Krispy Kreme’s Official Website
    Read more

  • Is catfish halal?

    In the name of Allah, most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    In the three schools of fiqh other than the Hanafis [namely Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali], the general ruling is that the produce of the sea is permitted.
    Read more

  • A Valid Slaughter?

    The Conditions & Rules Pertaining To A Valid Slaughter In The Sacred Law

    The rules and laws governing hunting and slaughtering are given great importance in traditional Islamic jurisprudence, because of the importance Allah and His Messenger (Allah bless him & give him peace) gave them.

    Read more

  • E- means EC (European communities) (Updated December 2, 2010)

    E-Numbers are assigned to various food additives. Some E-Numbers are banned in some countries. In UK Numbers without E prefix are allowed but may not be allowed in other country. We are getting lot of e-mails from our Muslims brother and sisters inquiring about Halal status of E-Numbers, so we decided to add to our web site.
    E-Numbers are divided into following category:

    Read more

  • The term “scampi” is used for different things:

    (a) in America (and sometimes elsewhere), “scampi” refers to a shrimp dish made with garlic butter. Given the permissibility of shrimp, according to the sounder position in the Hanafi school, this dish would be permitted. [ Please search SunniPath Answers (http://qa.sunnipath.com) for related answers on shrimp or prawn. ]

    (b) in much of Europe, “scampi” is used to refer to a type of lobster dish. Given the impermissibility of lobsters in the Hanafi school, this “scampi” would be impermissible.

    However, the following important details:

    “… but here in the US, especially in the popular Red Lobster seafood restaurants, shrimp scampi is made with garlic butter and white wine.

    “Although Red Lobster’s website doesn’t mention it, if you go into the actual restaurant, the menu will tell you that the shrimp scampi is made with white wine.

    “I’ve included a couple websites that feature shrimp scampi. Please note the use of white wine.
    http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/527/Red_Lobster_Shrimp_Scampi44256.shtml
    http://southernfood.about.com/od/shrimprecipes/r/bln81.htm

    Generally, when dining out, it pays for people to ask the food server what’s in the recipe. You’d be amazed at the number of dishes that contain alcohol or pork, the latter being very prevalent here in the South.” [End of Ustadha Zaynab’s words]

    And Allah alone gives success.

  • In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    All types of plants and vegetation are lawful (halal) to consume, except when fermented to contain alcohol, intoxicants or other ingredients that may be harmful. As such, consuming mushroom is permissible.

    Sayyiduna Sa’id ibn Zayd (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that he heard the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) say: ‘Mushroom is from the al-Mann, and its water is a cure for the eyes.’ (Sahih al-Bukhari, no. 5381)

    The great Hadith master, Imam Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani (Allah have mercy on him) gives two interpretations for the Messenger of Allah’s (Allah bless him & give him peace) statement ‘Mushroom is from the al-Mann’ in his monumental Fath al-Bari.

    1) It refers to the al-Mann and Salwa that was sent down on the people of Sayyiduna Musa (peace be upon him) Banu Isra’il as a bounty from Allah Most High.

    2) al-Mann is from the root word imtinan, which means blessings, favour and graciousness, meaning mushroom is a gift from Allah Most High, in that it grows after rain without having to do any farming. (See: Fath al-Bari, 10/202)

    Thus, consuming mushroom is Halal. However, certain species of wild mushroom are poisonous for human consumption; hence one should exercise caution and avoid consuming such mushrooms.

    And Allah knows best

  • This is a question that comes up once in a while. Let us take the time to provide a thorough analysis. In Islam, Halal means ‘lawful’ or ‘permitted’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. In the same way, haram means ‘unlawful’ or ‘prohibited’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. So it is proper to refer to pure foods, marriage to a cousin, having marital relations during the nights of Ramadan, etc. as being Halal. In the same light, it is proper to refer to pork, marriage to your sister or brother, hunting while in the Sacred Precincts or in Pilgrim garb (for Haj or Umrah), shameful deeds, etc. as being haram.

    When it comes to meat and poultry, Muslims also use the term Zabiha (Dhabiha) to refer to meat from a Halal animal slaughtered by a Muslim in the prescribed Islamic way. (Meat from haram animals does not become Halal, even if it is slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way. And a Muslim would never slaughter a haram animal.)

    Kosher is a term

    Islam prohibits all intoxicants, including alcohols, liquors and wines, whereas Judaism regards alcohol and wines as Kosher. Hence Kosher foods may contain alcohol. If they do, they are haram.
    Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. For Muslims, if gelatin is prepared from swine it is haram. Even if gelatin is prepared from cows that are not Zabiha, many scholars consider it haram.
    Kosher practice does not require Jews to pronounce the name of God on the animals while slaughtering, but Muslims must pronounce the name of ALLAH on all animals while slaughtering.

    There may be other differences between Halal and Kosher that make the Kosher questionable for Muslims to consume.

    These differences may seem minor to some. However, indulging in haram is a very serious offense against ALLAH and the punishment may be severe. Consuming alcohol or pork is a clear violation of ALLAH’s commandments and should not be taken lightly. The pronouncement of the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter is also a major act of worship and obedience. Remembering and pronouncing the name of ALLAH is very dear to Muslims and it is required at the time of slaughter.

    And ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta’ala, knows best.

  • Is Cheese Halal or Haram? The Question of Rennet

    I have found three opinions concerning cheese made with animal rennet.

    Q1) One is that since the rennet is haram, the cheese is haram.

    Q2) Another is that since the rennet doesn’t remain a part of the cheese- it is only used to separate the curds from the whey, the cheese is halal.
    Read more

  • Is Nutella Halal?

    • Over 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz. Jar
    Read more

Back to top