Tags

  • In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    All types of plants and vegetation are lawful (halal) to consume, except when fermented to contain alcohol, intoxicants or other ingredients that may be harmful. As such, consuming mushroom is permissible.

    Sayyiduna Sa’id ibn Zayd (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that he heard the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) say: ‘Mushroom is from the al-Mann, and its water is a cure for the eyes.’ (Sahih al-Bukhari, no. 5381)

    The great Hadith master, Imam Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani (Allah have mercy on him) gives two interpretations for the Messenger of Allah’s (Allah bless him & give him peace) statement ‘Mushroom is from the al-Mann’ in his monumental Fath al-Bari.

    1) It refers to the al-Mann and Salwa that was sent down on the people of Sayyiduna Musa (peace be upon him) Banu Isra’il as a bounty from Allah Most High.

    2) al-Mann is from the root word imtinan, which means blessings, favour and graciousness, meaning mushroom is a gift from Allah Most High, in that it grows after rain without having to do any farming. (See: Fath al-Bari, 10/202)

    Thus, consuming mushroom is Halal. However, certain species of wild mushroom are poisonous for human consumption; hence one should exercise caution and avoid consuming such mushrooms.

    And Allah knows best

  • List of animals that are Halal and Haram

    In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    Islam is a religion of mercy and compassion. It only commands and prohibits that which is in the best interests of the human being. The human mind however, due to it being very limited and restricted, may not be able to understand the logic behind every ruling. It may not be able to comprehend properly why a particular ruling is given, but Allah Most High- the Merciful and All-Knowing- is the best to decide what is beneficial and harmful for us, for He is the one who created us.
    Read more

  • Halal is an Arabic word, which means permissible, In connection with food, it means food that Muslims are permitted to consume under Islamic Shariah Law. In addition to this lexical and technical meaning the word is loaded with overtones of provided by God, Tayyab (wholesome, good); as the opposite of Haram, which means prohibited by God, (unwholesome, foul). Halal and haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. However, in this article the term will be used only in relation to meat and food products. This means that any meat that has not been rendered Halal by Islamic slaughter or any food that is liable to cause ill health, (e.g. decomposing meat, or food unfit for human consumption) cannot be considered Halal, wholesome or good Tayyab.

Back to top