Blog

  • Assalamu Alaykum wa Rahmatullah,

    Allah has lifted accountability for genuine errors and mistakes. However, one should beware of remissness, and seek refuge in Allah from acting without caution.

  • In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    All types of plants and vegetation are lawful (halal) to consume, except when fermented to contain alcohol, intoxicants or other ingredients that may be harmful. As such, consuming mushroom is permissible.

    Sayyiduna Sa’id ibn Zayd (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that he heard the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him & give him peace) say: ‘Mushroom is from the al-Mann, and its water is a cure for the eyes.’ (Sahih al-Bukhari, no. 5381)

    The great Hadith master, Imam Ibn Hajar al-Asqalani (Allah have mercy on him) gives two interpretations for the Messenger of Allah’s (Allah bless him & give him peace) statement ‘Mushroom is from the al-Mann’ in his monumental Fath al-Bari.

    1) It refers to the al-Mann and Salwa that was sent down on the people of Sayyiduna Musa (peace be upon him) Banu Isra’il as a bounty from Allah Most High.

    2) al-Mann is from the root word imtinan, which means blessings, favour and graciousness, meaning mushroom is a gift from Allah Most High, in that it grows after rain without having to do any farming. (See: Fath al-Bari, 10/202)

    Thus, consuming mushroom is Halal. However, certain species of wild mushroom are poisonous for human consumption; hence one should exercise caution and avoid consuming such mushrooms.

    And Allah knows best

  • Is Shark Meat Halal?

    In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    Indeed and something that is agreed upon by all four Sunni Schools of Islamic law. All the four major Sunni Madhabs are in agreement that consuming all types of fish is without doubt Halal, due to the explicit mention of this in the Qur’an and Sunnah.
    Read more

  • Why Can’t I Eat Elephant?

    In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    One of the principles in the Hanafi School concerning animal consumption is that all terrestrial predatory fanged animals are considered haram, such as a lion, cheetah, tiger, leopard, wolf, fox, dog, cat, etc.
    Read more

  • List of animals that are Halal and Haram

    In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    Islam is a religion of mercy and compassion. It only commands and prohibits that which is in the best interests of the human being. The human mind however, due to it being very limited and restricted, may not be able to understand the logic behind every ruling. It may not be able to comprehend properly why a particular ruling is given, but Allah Most High- the Merciful and All-Knowing- is the best to decide what is beneficial and harmful for us, for He is the one who created us.
    Read more

  • This is a question that comes up once in a while. Let us take the time to provide a thorough analysis. In Islam, Halal means ‘lawful’ or ‘permitted’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. In the same way, haram means ‘unlawful’ or ‘prohibited’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. So it is proper to refer to pure foods, marriage to a cousin, having marital relations during the nights of Ramadan, etc. as being Halal. In the same light, it is proper to refer to pork, marriage to your sister or brother, hunting while in the Sacred Precincts or in Pilgrim garb (for Haj or Umrah), shameful deeds, etc. as being haram.

    When it comes to meat and poultry, Muslims also use the term Zabiha (Dhabiha) to refer to meat from a Halal animal slaughtered by a Muslim in the prescribed Islamic way. (Meat from haram animals does not become Halal, even if it is slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way. And a Muslim would never slaughter a haram animal.)

    Kosher is a term

    Islam prohibits all intoxicants, including alcohols, liquors and wines, whereas Judaism regards alcohol and wines as Kosher. Hence Kosher foods may contain alcohol. If they do, they are haram.
    Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. For Muslims, if gelatin is prepared from swine it is haram. Even if gelatin is prepared from cows that are not Zabiha, many scholars consider it haram.
    Kosher practice does not require Jews to pronounce the name of God on the animals while slaughtering, but Muslims must pronounce the name of ALLAH on all animals while slaughtering.

    There may be other differences between Halal and Kosher that make the Kosher questionable for Muslims to consume.

    These differences may seem minor to some. However, indulging in haram is a very serious offense against ALLAH and the punishment may be severe. Consuming alcohol or pork is a clear violation of ALLAH’s commandments and should not be taken lightly. The pronouncement of the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter is also a major act of worship and obedience. Remembering and pronouncing the name of ALLAH is very dear to Muslims and it is required at the time of slaughter.

    And ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta’ala, knows best.

  • Is Cheese Halal or Haram? The Question of Rennet

    I have found three opinions concerning cheese made with animal rennet.

    Q1) One is that since the rennet is haram, the cheese is haram.

    Q2) Another is that since the rennet doesn’t remain a part of the cheese- it is only used to separate the curds from the whey, the cheese is halal.
    Read more

  • Is Nutella Halal?

    • Over 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz. Jar
    Read more

  • Coke Cola -The Myth

    Halal. With reference to Coca Cola Telegraph article, you may ring Coca Cola direct on 0800 227711

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/…/Coca-Cola-recipe…

    This is the Coca Cola reply from the Web site for the alcohol rumour:

    Read more

  • Is Muller Rice – Apple Sauce Halal?

    Please see below:
    Read more

Back to top