Is Kosher Gelatin Halal?
The answer is, it depends on the source of the gelatin. If it is from slaughtered kosher meat, it would be halal since the meat is halal. If it is from fish or vegetarian sources, it is of course halal.
Is Kosher Gelatin Halal?
One takes all possible means so that food does not get spoiled in the first place, lest one fall into the vice of wastefulness (israf). [Nahlawi, Durar Mubaha]
If, despite taking those means, the food still gets spoiled, then it is best to give it to an animal (if reasonably possible) so that it is consumed and not thrown away.
If that is not reasonably possible though, such as with a broken egg, then there is nothing wrong with discarding it completely, as one really has no alternative.
May Allah protect us from being wasteful. Amin.
And Allah knows best.
In general, any filthy substance in solid form would still be impure.
In terms of using alcohol as a flavor ingredient, it would be unlawful and filthy if the source is wine (i.e., alcohol derived from grapes. This would also apply if derived from dates or raisins).
If the source of the flavor ingredient is alcohol derived from grains (non-wine alcohol), then it would be permissible and not filthy ONLY if:
(a) it is not used as an intoxicant,
(b) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates,
(c) it is not used as intoxicants are used (i.e., for alcoholic consumption, even if a little)
(d) it is not used in vain (lahw) or as done by the religiously corrupt (fussaq).
One would have to be careful to fulfill all of these conditions, as otherwise it would be filthy and sinful to consume.
[Mawsili, Ikhtiyar; Maydani, Lubab]
You go to the Supermarket and see an offer of Buy 1 get 1 FREE for the following product! – You pick up this jar in the picture…
Halal or Haram followers what do you do next???
Its Mushrooms not Alcohol!
Do you sell Halal meat?
“Morrisons recognises the importance religious communities attach to food produced in accordance with their beliefs, and in response to customer demand we sell a number of branded halal and kosher products. Our customers who do not wish to purchase halal or kosher can choose our fresh meat in full confidence that all animals are pre-stunned and no prayer is read at slaughter. Our fresh meat is 100% British and uniquely the majority is processed at our own abattoirs – giving us unrivalled control over the provenance and quality of our meat.”
Are TABASCO® brand Pepper Sauce flavors certified Halal?
Below statement from Tabasco from their Official Website:
McIlhenny Company has been making our TABASCO® brand Original Red Sauce with just three simple, natural ingredients – vinegar, red peppers and salt – since 1868. We produce Halal products under the supervision of the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA), and our seven TABASCO® brand Pepper Sauce flavors have also recently been certified Halal in Malaysia by Jabatan Kemajuan Islam Malaysia (JAKIM).
The following TABASCO® brand Pepper Sauces are Halal:
TABASCO® brand Original Red Sauce
TABASCO® brand Green Jalapeño Pepper Sauce
TABASCO® brand Garlic Pepper Sauce
TABASCO® brand Chipotle Pepper Sauce
TABASCO® brand Habanero Sauce
TABASCO® brand SWEET & Spicy Pepper Sauce
TABASCO® brand Buffalo Style Hot Sauce
Hartley’s Strawberry Jelly Halal or Haram?
Hartley’s Strawberry Jelly 3 for £1 But remember Impluse Buyer’s it has Pork Gelatine inside it!
Weight Watcher’s Lemon Cakes Halal?
Weight Watcher’s Lemon Cakes
Lyons Cakes – Bakewell Tart Halal or Haram?
Our verdict based on information below: Halal
What is Gelatin?
What it is: Vegetarians and Muslims prepare to be shocked! The same stuff that puts the jiggle in Jello and other gelatin-based products is derived from collagen, a protein often collected from animal skins.