The permissibility of Vinegar

Due to the many questions of types of vinegar from the brothers and sisters – the following information covers all vinegar as being Halal with relevant references:

Ingredients such as white wine vinegar and cider vinegar are permissible.

Vinegar is produced by two successive microbial processes. The first being an alcoholic fermentation (which is Haraam) and the second an oxidation of alcohol by aceto bacter, when it’s molecular structure is changed and it ceases to be an intoxicant. Other varieties of vinegar are produced from beetroot, tarragon and alcoholic spirits. In vinegar the intoxicating factor is destroyed by the microbial process of oxidation hence it becomes permissible. Islam permits any variety of vinegar to be used as a condiment or preservative. (Muslim Food Guide – Page A26/27)

Checked and authorised as correct by Hadhrat Maulana Mufti Abdullah Sahib on: 30th July 2003 –
Also by The Suyuti Institute 2013

Leave a Reply

Back to top