Is Marmite Halal? – Do Muslims love it or hate it?!

Yes, Marmite is halal. Marmite is dark brown-colored savory spread made from the yeast that is a by-product of the brewing industry.

Marmite is a thick, sticky, brown spread made from yeast extract. Yeast extract, which is a byproduct of the brewing industry is vegetarian, gluten free, and has a high nutritional content. Marmite is popular throughout the United Kingdom, New Zealand, and South Africa and is praised for its characteristically pungent flavor. Marmite is well known for evoking a love or hate reaction, which the manufacturer fully embraces and even features in its advertising campaign.

Marmite History

In the late 19th century the German scientist, Justus Leibig, discovered that when brewer’s yeast was concentrated, it formed a vegetarian paste that closely resembled meat extract. This extract was first commercially produced in 1902 when the Marmite Food Company Limited was formed.

Marmite did not begin to gain popularity until about ten years later when vitamins were discovered and their importance touted to the public. Yeast extract is inexpensive and a natural source of B vitamins, which lead Marmite to become a popular spread served in schools, hospitals, and to military personnel. Today, Marmite is fortified with extra B vitamins, further increasing its nutritional value.

Marmite was named after the round earthenware pots that it was originally sold in during the early 20th century. Today, marmite is sold in small glass or plastic jars that resemble the original marmite pots.

Nutritional Content of Marmite

Marmite contains a few simple ingredients: yeast extract, salt, vegetable extract, spices, and vitamins (B1, B2, B3, B9, B12). Marmite is vegetarian, gluten free, low in calories, and high in vitamins, providing nearly 50% of the RDA for folic acid per serving. Although Marmite has a high sodium content, it is usually used sparingly so the sodium content per serving is relatively normal.

Source: Research, Google, Marmite website

By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram Team

Leave a Reply

Back to top