Is Domino’s Pizza Halal or Haram?

Is Domino’s Pizza Halal or Haram?

Are Domino’s stores or products halal (FAQ)?


“While we no longer have any halal stores, all our chicken, with the exception of our chicken wings, is halal slaughtered. We would like to reassure customers that all our chicken is stunned and we take our responsibility to animal welfare very seriously. None of our other meats are halal.”

Telegraph Article from 2010:

“Domino’s Pizza, which was among the first fast food outlets in Britain to serve halal-only takeaways, has ditched the menu after poor sales.

The chain enraged customers 18 months ago by completely removing pork from its pizzas in favour of halal-only meat at its branch in Hall Green, Birmingham.

But the pizza firm have been forced into an embarrassing U-turn back to their original menu due to poor sales.

Domino’s Pizza, which was among the first fast food outlets in Britain to serve halal-only takeaways, has ditched the menu after poor sales.

The chain enraged customers 18 months ago by completely removing pork from its pizzas in favour of halal-only meat at its branch in Hall Green, Birmingham.

But the pizza firm have been forced into an embarrassing U-turn back to their original menu due to poor sales.

Pizza fans in the Muslim area of Hall Green, Birmingham who were previously refused service when asking for a ham and pineapple or pepperoni pizza can now order their favourite toppings again after the store’s decision.

Domino’s Pizza have also reverted to conventional menus at the other two branches where they trialled halal-only menus for Muslim customers in Bradford and Blackburn.

In a letter to customers from its branch in Hall Green, which caters for surrounding Birmingham areas including Sparkhill, Moseley and Sparkbrook, Dominos explained: “I would like to draw your attention to the fact that the store is no longer serving a halal menu.

“Dominos Pizza Group decided to trial a halal menu in Hall Green and two other stores in 2009, but it hasn’t had the impact expected and the company has reluctantly decided to return to a conventional Domino’s menu in all three stores.

“This has not been an easy decision for us and we are sorry for an inconvenience.”

All pork products are forbidden by Muslim law, so the three Dominos halal trial branches had to take them off the menu.

Pizza lover Chris Yates, 31, from Moseley, Birmingham, was refused his favourite ‘Meateor’ pizza covered in pepperoni, sausage, meatballs, ground beef and smoky bacon when he tried to order last February.

He said yesterday (SUN): “It’s good to see Domino’s have seen sense so that their customers can enjoy their best pizzas.

“They may have trialled the halal-only meat to please their Muslim customers, but I’m sure a lot of other people felt discriminated against because they couldn’t have what they wanted.

“Pizzas like the Meateor, Pepperoni and Hawaiian are classic toppings which shouldn’t have been taken off the menu in the first place.

“It was as if I wasn’t allowed ham or pork on my pizza encase I offended someone.

“It did seem pretty unfair on non-Muslim pizza lovers, so for Dominos to recognise that it hasn’t been successful and stick to what they do best is a welcome move as far as I’m concerned.”

A Dominos spokesperson said: “We have been trialling a halal-only menu in three of our stores over the last 18 months.

“It hasn’t had the impact we hoped it would have, and we have therefore decided to revert to our conventional menu in all three stores.

“The decision has been a completely commercial one in line with the launch of our new lunch campaign.

“The timing of the decision has tied in with that campaign.”

Source: Domino’s website and Telegraph website

By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram

Leave a Reply

Back to top