The rumour on E920 L-cysteine and Bread?
Be careful of the bread you eat as BBC news yesterday reported that human hair is being used to make bread. I didn’t believe myself until I did my own research. Basically human hair, hog hair, duck and chicken feathers are used in strong chemicals to extract a protein and produce E920 otherwise known as L Cystein this helps the bread dough grow faster. China are known to produce this chemical using human and other hair usually from barber shops. The breads that are said to be ok are Kingsmill which are approved by halal food authority and labelled on packet. And Hovis website in their frequently asked questions state that they do not use L Cystein. Check internet for more info do your own research as well.
I feel sick ive just thrown our bread away it had E920
Please share this with the entire muslim ummah, so that they can benefit from this message…
In the Name of Allah, the Inspirer of Truth.
Assalamu Alaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh
JazakAllah for your inquiry.
This is either heresay or an opinion of a friend of the blogger viz:
“So how commonly is L-Cysteine used? My vegetarian friend claims that the problem with E920 is that – even when it is used – it doesn’t have to be listed in the ingredients. She says that’s because it is broken down in the baking process so the manufacturers argue that doesn’t constitute an ingredient.”
He himself quotes the FSA as follows:
“That is something the Food Standards Agency flatly denies. It says that L-Cysteine must always be labelled. Indeed, the industry says the reason you so rarely see E920 on labels is that these days it is very rarely used (apparently it was much more common fifteen years ago). The industry also says that the only L-Cysteine their members would use is the synthetic variety.”
The breadmaking process uses synthetic E920 in the bread making process and not the L-cysteine from Haraam sources. If anyone believes otherwise, please provide the evidence for the same adn.
And Allah knows Best
Wa Alaykumussalaam Wa Rahmatullahi Wa BarakatuhWarburtons:
Thank you for your email
I can confirm that all our products are suitable for vegetarians.
In relation to your query regarding L-Cysteine – E920 . This is a flour treatment agent and the E920 we use is a man made chemical produced synthetically. We use it in all our products.
With the exception of milk, butter and eggs I can categorically state that we do not use any ingredients or processing aids at any stage of the baking process that have been derived from animal products,
I hope this answers your query and that you can continue to enjoy our products
WARBURTONS CUSTOMER CARE DEPARTMENT
Freephone: 0800 243684
Allied Bakeries Issue Reference XXXXXX
Thank you for your e-mail we received in regards to our Allinson Bread.
We can absolutely reassure you all of our breads, rolls and bakery products are made only with ingredients suitable for vegetarians. We do not use any ingredients, additives or enzymes sourced from any part of any animal. We do not use the additive referred to in the Channel 5 programme (E920), although we understand that this is produced synthetically and not from feathers.
I hope that we have been of some help to you.
Thanks for contacting me about the ingredients in some of our Bread.
I’m sorry after reading a report your now concerned about our products. I can understand your concern, and I’m happy to help clarify your query.
I can confirm that the L-Cysteine we use in all our Asda branded products is synthetic and does not derive from humans or animals.
I appreciate your concern about this as customers should know what they’re eating. We want to be as transparent with our customers as we can be. If there are any other products you have any queries over, please contact our Customer Service Team on 0800 952 0101 where they’ll be happy to help.
Thanks again for contacting me. I trust I’ve been able to help. If there is anything else I can help with, please let me know.
Asda Service Team
0800 952 0101
Take the Asda Price Guarantee 10% challenge Please do not reply to this email. This is not a monitored inbox and you may not receive a reply. In order to receive a quick response, please contact us using this link, Could you please quote the reference number which is in the ‘subject field.’. This will help us to deal with your response quickly and efficiently.
hank you for contacting us in regards of your query on our ingredients being Halal. Braces bakery limited appreciates all forms of customer communication and welcomes the opportunity to review the product that you have inquired about.
After researching into all our ingredients, I can confirm that there are no animal oils or fats used in our bread, only vegetable oils and fats. However we do not state that our bread is Halal.
Once again, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of this query as it has helped us to investigate into this matter.
Head Office: Cambrian House, Croespenmaen Industrial Estate, Crumlin, Newport, NP11 3AG.
Brace’s Bakery Ltd is incorporated in England and Wales and is registered at the above address. Registration Number: 1223575
The information contained in this e-mail is of a confidential nature and is intended only for the addressee. If you are not the intended addressee, any disclosure, copying or distribution by you is prohibited and may be unlawful. Disclosure to any party other than the addressee, whether inadvertent or otherwise, is not intended to waive privilege or confidentiality. Internet communications are not secure and therefore Brace’s Bakery Limited does not accept legal responsibility for the contents of this message. Any views or opinions expressed are those of the author. Brace’s may monitor and record all e-mails.