Blog

  • Unilever Walls Ice Cream Halal or Haram 2017 FULL LIST

    Unilever Wall’s Ice Cream Statement:
    This information has been provided to GMWA in good faith using the most up-to-date information available. We reserve the right to amend recipes as required and as such the information contained herein is subject to change.

    IMPORTANT NOTE: The information contained herein is applicable ONLY to Unilever products on general sale in the United Kingdom. This information may not be applicable or relevant to the same products produced elsewhere in the world.

    Calf Rennet Clarification:
    Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
    It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
    praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

    Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)

    Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
    Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.
    Alcohol Flavourings Clarification
    HARAM PRODUCTS
    contains: pork enzymes used in hydrolysed milk proteins
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Rasberry Sorbet 5.5L
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Lemon Sorbet 5.5L

    Added Alcohol
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Rum & Raisin 5.5L
    Carte D’or Rum & Raisin 900mlCarte D’or Rum & Raisin
    Carte D’or Signature Tarte au Citron
    Magnum Mini 6MP – Baileys
    Solero Mojito 3MP & Impulse
    Magnum Celebration Marc de Champagne 100ml (Impulse & MP)
    Pork gelatine and pork enzymes
    Haribo push up
    Haribo Push Up MP & Impulse
    Dino candy Orange
    Dino candy Lemon
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Rasberry Sorbet 5.5L
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Lemon Sorbet 5.5L
    The following are Halaal.
    However, the list is unique because unless otherwise stated, they are not free from calf rennet and alcoholic flavourings. The fatwas links are at the top for clarification.
    Kindly note that non milk products do not include calf rennet e.g. Calippo etc.

    Carte D’or Caramel 900ml
    Carte D’or Gelataria Blueberry Vanilla
    Carte D’or Gelataria Chocolate Inspiration 900ml
    Carte D’or Gelataria Crema di Mascarpone 900ml
    Carte D’or Gelataria Salted Caramel 900ml
    Carte D’Or Gelateria Caffe Latte 900ml
    Carte D’Or Gelateria Eton Mess 900ml
    Carte D’or Praline
    Carte D’or Strawberry 900ml
    Carte D’or Vanilla 900ml
    Carte D’or Vanilla Light 900ml
    Carte D’Or Vanilla
    Carte D’Or Lemon Meringue Pie
    Carte D’Or Lemon Sorbet
    Carte D’Or Mango Sorbet
    Carte D’Or Strawberry Sorbet
    Carte D’Or Apple Tarte
    Carte D’Or Gelateria Triple Chocolate Parfait
    Carte D’Or Profiterole
    Carte D’Or Parline Treats 9M
    CDO Vanilla Light
    Carte D’Or Vanilla
    Carte D’Or Strawberry
    Carte D’Or Caramel
    Carte D’Or Dark Chocolate
    Carte D’Or Coffee
    Carte D’Or Mint Chocolate
    Carte D’Or Salted Caramel
    Carte D’Or Vanilla Dairy
    Carte D’Or Romantica Caramel
    Carte D’Or Milk Chocolate No Alcohol Flavorings
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Vanilla 5.5L
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Strawberry 5.5L
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Triple Choc 5.5L No Alcohol Flavorings
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Strawberry Cheesecake 5.5L
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Caramel 5.5L No Alcohol Flavorings
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Vanilla Choc Cookies 5.5L
    Carte D’or Artiscoop Mint and Chocolate 5.5L No Alcohol Flavorings
    Carte D’Or Artiscoop Marshmallow 5.5L
    Carte D’Or Artiscoop Greek Yohurt and Honey 5.5L
    Carte D’or Praline
    Carte D’Or White Chocolate No Alcohol Flavorings
    CarteD’Or Mandarin Sorbet
    Carte D’Or Chocolate Brownie
    Carte D’Or Pistachio No Alcohol Flavorings
    Carte D’Or Dulche de leche (toffee fudge)
    Carte D’Or Blue Candyfloss
    Carte D’Or Coffee (café Late) No Alcohol Flavorings
    Carte D’Or Dark Chocolate
    Carte D’Or Spagnola (cherry)
    Carte D’Or Banana Chocolate (Banana Split)
    Carte D’Or Coconut

    Cornetto 4MP Cornetto Classico
    Cornetto 4MP Cornetto Strawberry
    Cornetto 4MP Cornetto Mint
    Cornetto Peanut Butter Love
    Cornetto Cookies & Dream
    Cornetto Minatures Vanilla & Chocolate
    Cornetto 4MP Classico
    Cornetto 4MP Strawberry
    Cornetto 4MP Choc ‘n’ Caramel Crunch
    Cornetto 5MP Classico
    Cornetto 5MP Strawberry
    Cornetto 6MP Mini Mix (Football Edition)
    Cornetto 10MP Miniatures
    Cornetto 12MP Classico
    Cornetto Mint 4MP
    Cornetto Honeycomb Crunch 4MP
    Cornetto Lemon Buttermilk 6MP

    Cornetto Mint
    Cornetto Peanut Butter Love
    Cornetto Cookies & Dream
    Cornetto Choc ‘N’ Ball 160ml
    Cornetto Classico
    Cornetto Classico
    Cornetto Strawberry
    Cornetto Strawberry
    Cornetto Choc ‘n’ Caramel Crunch
    Cornetto Honeycomb
    Cornetto Choc ‘n’ Ball Strawberry No Alcohol Flavorings
    Cornetto Choc ‘n’ Ball Vanilla
    Cornetto Soft Choc Chip -18C
    Cornetto Soft Strawberry -18C
    Cornetto Soft Vanilla -18C
    Cornetto Soft Caramel -18C

    My Cornetto: Vanilla & Choc
    My Cornetto: Chocolate & Choc Chip
    My Cornetto: Vanilla
    My Cornetto: Vanilla & Strawberry

    Magnum 3 MP Black Espresso
    Magnum Caramel
    Magnum Mini Mixed 6MP [1] – Almond
    Magnum Mini Mixed 6MP [1] – Classic
    Magnum Mini Mixed 6 MP [1] – White
    Magnum Mini Mixed 6MP [2] – Classic
    Magnum Mini Mixed 6MP [2] – Dark
    Magnum Mini Mixed 6MP [2] – Mint
    Magnum After Dinner 10MP
    Magnum Pistachio 3MP No Alcohol Flavorings
    Magnum Strawberry and White 3MP
    Magnum Double Caramel – Impulse and Multipack
    Magnum Double Chocolate – Impulse and Multipack No Calf rennet Inclusion
    Magnum Double Peanut Butter – Impulse and Multipack
    Magnum Mini Classic 3MP
    Magnum Classic – Impulse and Multipack products
    Magnum Almond – Impulse and Multipack
    Magnum White – Impulse and Multipack products
    Magnum Mint -Impulse & Multipack products
    Magnum Pink Raspberry-Impulse and Multipack products
    Magnum Cookie Crumble 4MP
    Magnum Mini Dbl Choc & Dbl Caramel 6MP
    Magnum Mini Pistachio and Hazelnut 6MP
    Magnum Mini Double Peanut Butter 6MP
    Magnum mania 8 MP (RFA (2 x 110mL classic, almond, white – see individual impulse products for details)
    Magnum Honeycomb 100ml
    Magnum Intense Dark 3MP
    Magnum Mini Intense Dark 6M
    Magnum Caramel Nuts Bar 6MP
    Magnum Bomboniera 12MP
    Magnum Double Coconut Impulse & MP
    Magnum Double Raspberry Impulse & MP
    Magnum Mini Double Raspberry 6MP
    Magnum Classic Pint
    Magnum White Pint
    Magnum Almond Pint

    Calippo 6 MP Mini Calippo Orange/Lemon (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Bubblegum 105ml No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Cola 5MP (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Orange 105ml No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Shots Straw & Lemon 163ml (no calf rennet)
    Freaky Foot 79ml
    Gingerbread Sandwich
    Haribo Push Up MP & Impulse
    Iceberger MP & Impluse
    Mini Milk Chocolate 35ml (Impulse & MP)
    Mini Milk Strawberry 35ml (Impulse & MP) No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Mini Milk Vanilla 35ml (Impulse & MP)
    Solero Exotic Impulse and MP No Alcohol Flavorings
    Twister – Mini Twister No Alcohol Flavorings
    Twister 80ml No Alcohol Flavorings

    XPop (no calf rennet)
    Adventure Island 10MP
    Calippo Cola (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Shots Lemon & Cola
    Twister Blackcurrant
    Twister Mini Blackcurrant 8MP
    Loop the Loop Impilse & MP
    Feast Chocolate
    Feast Mint
    Feast Bar
    Feast Bar 6MP
    Feast Chocolate 4MP
    Feast Sandwich Impulse & MP
    Calippo Combo Strawb/Van Impulse & MP
    Minions Impulse & MP
    Duo
    Solero Red Berries Impulse & MP
    Solero Smoothie No Alcohol Flavorings

    Viennetta Mint – 650ml, 1 litre
    Viennetta Vanilla – 650ml, 1 litre
    Viennetta Chocolate 650ml
    Viennetta Strawberry 650ml

    Walls Cream of Cornish Vanilla 1L
    Wall’s Vanilla Light 1.8L No Alcohol Flavorings
    Wall’s Vanilla Soft Scoop 1.8 L No Alcohol Flavorings
    Wall’s Soft Scoop Raspberry Ripple
    Wall’s Soft Scoop Neapolitan
    Wall’s Soft Scoop Mint Choc Chip

    Swedish Glace Vanilla 750ml (no calf rennet)
    Swedish Glace Raspberry 750ml No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Swedish Glace Chocolate 750ml No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Swedish Glace Rfreshing Strawberry 5MP No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Swedish Glace Nutty Cocoa Twist (no calf rennet)
    Swedish Glace Vanilla 5MP (no calf rennet)

    Calippo Slush Cola No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Slush Strawberry No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)
    Calippo Slush Blue Magic No Alcohol Flavorings (no calf rennet)

  • CADBURY’s Halal or Haram Chocolate LIST UK and IRELAND – 2017

    The following is the most up to date list provided to us
    Calf Rennet Clarification:
    Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
    It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
    praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

    Is Whey Rennet Haraam? (no!)

    Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
    Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.
    Alcohol Flavourings Clarification

    The following are permissible

    Boost
    Bitsa Wispa
    Boost bites
    Bournville Classic Dark
    Brunch Bar – Chocolate Chip
    Brunch Bar – Peanut
    Brunch Bar – Raisin
    Buttons
    Cadbury Dairy Milk
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Advent Calendar
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Oreo
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Toffee Wholenut
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Triple Choc Sensation
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Big Taste Peanut Caramel Crisp (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Bubbly
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Bubbly Mini
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Bubbly with white centre
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Caramel
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Crunchie
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Fruit & Nut
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Marvellous Creations Jelly Popping Candy (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Medley, Fudge & biscuit
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Medley, Hazelnut & Raspberry
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Puddles – Hazelnut flavour (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Turkish
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Whole Nut
    Cadbury Dairy Milk with Daim (calf rennet inclusion)
    Cadbury Dairy Milk Oat Crunch (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Cadbury Dairy Milk with LU biscuit (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Cadbury Dairy Milk with Oreo
    Cadbury Dairy Milk with Oreo, Mint flavour
    Cadbury Dairy Milk with Oreo, Peanut flavour
    Caramel Egg Minis
    Caramel Egg Standard
    Caramel Nibbles
    Chomp
    Creme Egg Minis
    Creme Egg Standard
    Crunchie
    Crunchie Rocks
    Curly Wurly
    Dinky Decker
    Double Decker
    Flake
    Freddo
    Freddo Caramel
    Freddo Faces
    Frys Chocolate Cream
    Frys Peppermint Cream
    Frys Turkish Delight
    Fudge
    Giant Buttons
    Heroes
    Milk Tray
    Mini Cadbury eggs with Diam (calf rennet inclusion)
    Mini Eggs
    Roses Assortments (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Spoonable Egg Choc (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Spoonable Egg Vanilla (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Starbar
    Timeout
    Twirl
    Twirl Bites
    White Buttons
    Wispa
    Wispa Gold

    Cadbury Ireland
    DAIRY MILK
    DAIRY MILK FRUIT & NUT
    DAIRY MILK WHOLENUT
    DAIRY MILK MINT CRISP
    DAIRY MILK GOLDEN CRISP
    DAIRY MILK TIFFIN BAR
    DAIRY MILK TURKISH
    DAIRY MILK CARAMELLO (Alcoholic Flavourings)

    Toblerone
    Toblerone Milk
    Toblerone Dark
    Toblerone White
    Toblerone Fruit&Nut
    Toblerone Mix

    Terry’s
    TCO mini popping candy
    TCO mini
    TCO ball popping candy
    TCO ball milk
    TCO ball honeycomb pieces
    TCO ball dark
    Twilight

  • AG Barr Rubicon Drinks – Halal or Haram?

    Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
    Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

    The following are permissible

    Rubicon Mango Juice Drink 1.5L, 1L & 288ml & 500ml, 330ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Passion Juice Drink 1L & 288ml, 500ml, 330ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Guava Juice Drink 1.5L, 1L & 288ml, 500ml, 330ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Lychee Juice Drink 1.5L, 1L & 288ml
    Rubicon Guanabana Juice Drink 1L
    Rubicon Pomegranate Juice Drink 1L & 288ml
    Rubicon Papaya Juice Drink 1L (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Pineapple & Coconut Exotic Blend 1L
    Rubicon Watermelon Juice Drink 1L & 288ml
    Rubicon Mango Light & Fruity Juice Drink 1L
    Rubicon Guava Light & Fruity Juice Drink 1L
    Rubicon Mango, Lime & Mint Light & Fruity Juice Drink 1L
    Rubicon Mango & Coconut Light & Fruity Juice Drink 1L
    Rubicon Spring Black Cherry Raspberry 500ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Spring Orange Mango 500ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Spring Strawberry Kiwi 500ml
    Rubicon Spring Lemon Lime 500ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Coconut Water 1L & 330ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Mango Juice Soft Drink 330ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Sparkling Passion Juice Soft Drink 330ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Sparkling Guava Juice Soft Drink 330ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Lychee Juice Soft Drink 330ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Pomegranate Juice Soft Drink 330ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Mango Juice Soft Drink 500ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Sparkling Guava Juice Soft Drink 500ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Passion Juice Soft Drink 500ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Sparkling Pomegranate Juice Soft Drink 500ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Lychee Juice Soft Drink 500ml 500ml
    Rubicon Sparkling Mango Juice Soft Drink 2L (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Sparkling Passion Juice Soft Drink 2L (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Rubicon Sparkling Lychee Juice Soft Drink 2L
    Sun Exotic Tropical Juice Drink 1L & 288ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Sun Exotic Pineapple & Coconut Juice Drink 1L & 288ml
    Sun Exotic Citrus Twist 1L
    Sun Exotic Sparkling Tropical Juice Soft Drink 330ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Sun Exotic Sparkling Pineapple & Coconut Juice Soft Drink 330ml
    Sun Exotic Sparkling Tropical Juice Soft Drink 500ml (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Sun Exotic Sparkling Pineapple & Coconut Juice Soft Drink 500ml
    Sun Exotic Sparkling Tropical Juice Soft Drink 2L (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Sun Exotic Sparkling Pineapple & Coconut Juice Soft Drink 2L

  • Are Pringles Halal or Haram?

    This list is from 2017 as 2018 has not been released as of yet!

    Haram Pringles
    Pringles Roast Chicken & Herbs
    Pringles Flame Grilled Steak Flavour
    Pringles Xtra Saucy BBQ

    The following are Halal.
    PRINGLES
    Pringles Original
    Pringles Sour Cream & Onion
    Pringles Texas BBQ Sauce
    Pringles Cheese & Onion
    Pringles Hot & Spicy (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Paprika
    Pringles Salt & Vinegar
    Pringles Cheesy Cheese
    Pringles Smokey Bacon Flavour (vegetarian flavours but better avoided )
    Pringles Sour Cream & Dill (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Ketchup
    Pringles Prawn Cocktail Flavour (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Thai Sweet Chilli (inclusion of calf rennet)
    Pringles Salt & Pepper
    “Pringles Rosemary & Olive Oil”
    Pringles Cheddar Cheese
    Pringles Hot Paprika Chilli (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Emmental (inclusion of calf rennet)
    Pringles Curry (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Pizza
    Pringles Brazilian Zesty Chilli Style
    Pringles Red Chilli
    Pringles Mediterranean Salsa
    Pringles Sweet Chilli
    Pringles Ham & Cheese Flavour

    PRINGLES XTRA
    Pringles Xtra Kickin’ Sour Cream & Onion
    Pringles Xtra Spicy Chilli Sauce
    Pringles Xtra Cheesy Nacho Cheese (Alcohol Flavourings)

    PRINGLES TORTILLA CHIPS
    Pringles Tortilla Chips Original
    Pringles Tortilla Chips Nacho Cheese (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Tortilla Chips Sour Cream (Alcohol Flavourings)
    Pringles Tortilla Chips Spicy Chilli
    Pringles Tortilla Chips Smokey BBQ
    Pringles Tortilla Chips Paprika
    And here are the reasons why
    Calf Rennet Clarification:
    Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
    It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
    praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

    Is Whey Rennet Haram? (no!)

    Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
    Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

  • Jus-Role Pastry -Halal or Haram?

    The statement from Jus-Role as reads:
    hank you for contacting us to enquire about our Jus-Rol Chilled Puff Sheet 320g product.
    We are most interested to learn of your nutritional request. Please be advised that the minimal quantity of alcohol in the Jus Rol Chilled Puff Sheet is added to the dough to maintain the shelf-life of the product. We would like to assure you that the percentage of alcohol present in this product is very low (approximately 1%), with the majority of the alcohol evaporating during cooking. Alternatively, you could use our Jus Rol Frozen Puff sheets or our All Butter range which currently do not contain any alcohol.
    Please be aware that all our products are subject to reformulation at any given time. Consequently, we would recommend that you always check the ingredient lists on the packs of all our products prior to purchase to determine product content.
    We trust that the information we have been able to provide is reassuring and has fully answered your query, however, if you require any additional information about any of our products please do not hesitate to contact us again.
    We do hope you will continue to purchase and enjoy our products again in the future.
    Yours sincerely,
    Consumer Relations
    OUR VERDICT?
    If Ethanol is listed as an added ingredient in Jusrol pastry than it would be considered Haram.
    Answered by Ustadh Asif Iqbal

  • Are McDonalds Fillet o Fish Halal or Haram?

    Are Filet-O-Fish sandwiches cooked in 100% vegetable oil, or in the same oil as other meat products?
    http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/ukhome/whatmakesmcdonalds/questions/food/halal/are-filet-o-fish-sandwiches-cooked-in-100-vegetable-oil-or-in-the-same-oil-as-other-meat-products.html
    Question put to McDonalds: Hi, I am a Muslim and I would like to ask a question about your Filet-O-Fish sandwiches. As a Muslim I can eat fish (as it is regarded as Halal) and my question is: Are the Filet-O-Fish sandwiches cooked in 100% Vegetable Oil or is the same oil also used to cook other animal meat (for example chicken)? Your help in answering this question will be very appreciated. Thanks.
    Response from McDonalds: Thanks for your question. None of our food is certified as Halal. Our Filet-o-Fish patty is cooked separately from meat items in 100% vegetable oil. However, due to the design of the oil filtration system there is a small chance the oil used to cook these patties can become in contact with oil used to cook meat products during the oil filtering process. We therefore cannot guarantee cross-contamination will not occur, but have taken measures to minimise the amount of any cross-contamination.
    Are the Fries and Filet-O-Fish Halal?
    http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/ukhome/whatmakesmcdonalds/questions/food/halal/are-the-fries-and-filet-o-fish-halal.html
    Question put to McDonalds: Hi, as a muslim i was wondering whether your fries and filet-o-fish meals are halal? Thanks
    Response from McDonalds: Thanks for your question. None of our food is certified as Halal. Our Fries are certified as Vegetarian. Our Filet-o-Fish patty is cooked separately from meat items. However, due to the design of the oil filtration system there is a small chance the oil used to cook these patties can become in contact with oil used to cook meat products during the oil filtering process. We therefore cannot guarantee cross-contamination will not occur, but have taken measures to minimise the amount of any cross-contamination.
    Is the Filet-O-Fish Halal? Is it prepared in lard?
    http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/ukhome/whatmakesmcdonalds/questions/food/halal/is-the-filet-o-fish-halal-is-it-prepared-in-lard.html
    Question put to McDonalds: Is Mcdonalds Fillet-O-Fish halal, because I read online it is prepared in lard something which Muslims can’t consume, so can you please clarify.
    Response from McDonalds: Thanks for your question. We understand that fish itself is not considered halal or haram, but we can confirm that the Filet-O-Fish does not contain any meat ingredients and is cooked in 100% vegetable oil, separately from other products.
    Are the Apple Pies Halal?
    ref: http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/ukhome/whatmakesmcdonalds/questions/food/halal/are-the-apple-pies-halal.html
    Question put to McDonalds: Are the Apple Pies Halal?
    Response from McDonalds: Thanks for your question. McDonald’s Apple Pies are not Halal. Nothing in McDonald’s menu is certified as Halal.

  • Walkers Crisps

    Response from Walkers direct 

    Hi, Thank you for getting in touch.
    I would like to apologise for any confusion caused by the recent message you have seen regarding Walkers Max Paprika flavour crisps.
    I can confirm that, as stated on the back of packs, Walkers Max Paprika flavour is suitable for a vegetarian diet. I would, however, like to make you aware that our new Walkers Stax Paprika flavour are not suitable for a vegetarian diet.
    I hope this helps, please feel free to call our team on 0800 274777 if you have any further questions at all. Have a lovely day!




  • Regarding Qurbani/sacrificial slaughter at Eid Ul Adha/hajj, please note the following important points

    Qurbani is wajib upon a person who possesses wealth to the value of 613g of silver.

    Qurbani must be done to fulfil ones own obligation before you can offer to fulfil this obligation for another (eg wife, parents etc).

    It is wajib upon a baaligh, Muslim person of sound mind who possesses at least the value of 613g of silver in wealth.

    It is therefore not obligatory upon children or the poor or people not of sound mind and so on.

    Please be careful in ensuring your Qurbani is fulfilled correctly. It is the responsibility of the individual in ensuring all conditions of Qurbani are met. For example, niyya is a necessary component of slaughter. Before the zibah, the person doing the slaughter must make intention that this slaughter is for such a person. Not necessarily by name (this is good if possible) but General niyya is sufficient. Eg intention: this Qurbani is being filled for the man in London who called me asking to make slaughter on his behalf.

    If a person is doing zibah of his own animal then his niyya will be for himself and if he is doing on behalf of someone else then it should be as above.

    The issue arises when organisations are instructed to the Qurbani on your behalf. For large organisations, they may be required to fulfil hundreds, may be thousands of qurbani’s. So the question now is do they have enough information about each instruction to ensure a valid niyya? If they do, Do they pass this on to the person doing zibah? This is a very crucial issue as many organisations do not make record of the identity of the person instructing them for Qurbani!
    If niyya is not valid, the animal will be halal but it will not fulfil the obligation of Qurbani which remains outstanding and the person instructing will be sinful for failing a wajib Amal.

    After niyya, another important point is the tasmiyya read at time of zibah. The person doing zibah (zaabih) must say bismillahi allahuakbar. This must be said at least loud enough so that it can be heard by the person himself. If it is not pronounced or pronounced ‘in the heart’ or so quiet that it can not be heard by the person himself then the animal will not be halal to eat.

    In collective Qurbani of a large animal, if the niyya of any individual is not correct or it transpires any of the individuals is a gustakh (person who disrespects) the Prophet ﷺ or of the sihaba or the Beloved wives of the prophet ﷺ, or is a non Muslim (eg ahmedi/qaidiyani) then the Qurbani of the whole animal is made void rendering the Qurbani of the correct individuals wasted also. Again with large organisations, they do not differentiate on any of this issues. If someone pays their share for Qurbani, the sacrifice is done on their behalf thereby wasting the efforts of the others in that collective Qurbani.

    When the animal is sacrificed (zibah done), at least three out of the four main veins/arteries in the neck must be cut through, or the animal will not be halal! The zaabih (person doing sacrifice) must be aware of the anatomy of the animal and conditions of zibah, in order to fulfil the obligations. How can someone fulfil the obligations if he doesn’t know what they are himself?!

    The health conditions of the animal must also be met for Qurbani to be valid. I.e conditions like the animal must be of a certain age, it must not be blind in any eye, it must not be injured.. Etc etc.

    This gives the reader an overall idea of the conditions and requirements of Qurbani and we must understand that if any of the conditions or wajibat of the process of Qurbani and sacrificial slaughter are not met, then Qurbani is not valid and we are accountable.

    Please take care in ensuring that your Qurbani is conducted in the correct manner, fulfilling all conditions, requirements and wajibat.

    We can see the problems we are faced with when instructing large organisations.

    The question then arises where people ask me, where should we give our Qurbani then? We want to help the poor?

    My personal response to that is, give to a madrassa in the Middle East or Asia. These madrasas have very poor children who are often orphans or abandoned by their families. They are also students of deen. If you assist them not only will your wajibat be fulfilled, not only will you be assisting the poor but in addition you will receive reward when the child sits in class reciting Allah’s kalaam, Rasoolallah ﷺ ‘s kalaam, learns about the sciences of deen … These children will be scholars, hafiz and so on, you will be assisting those who assist the deen of Allah ﷻ and His Rasoolallah ﷺ. By very nature of the establishment they are, madrasas are likely to take care when fulfilling such actions.

    Again be careful to give to a reliable madrassa.  How do you know if it is reliable? Well, if you have witnessed yourself or accept the testimony of another. You have to at least have taken all reasonable measures to ensure your wajib Amal is completed correctly. Madrasas are easier to organise and manage then thousands or even tens of thousands of qurbani’s that large charity organisations are required to complete. If, after taking all reasonable precautions and measures, the organisation or individuals instructed, do not fulfil all the necessary requirements, then they will be responsible not the individual. Again the condition first is that you did everything possible to settle your mind that the organisation is reliable in its methodologies of Qurbani.

    With regards to the meat of the Qurbani animal. What is recommended in that respect? The recommendation is that you keep 1/3 of the meat for yourself, 1/3 for your relatives and friends and 1/3 for the poor and needy. I always recommend including the family of the prophet ﷺ since they cannot be recipients of zakat or sadqa but they can receive Qurbani meat.

    If an individual wishes to keep most or all of the meat for himself, if he is poor then there is no issue whatsoever, in fact that is preferable but even if he is rich, although it is against recommendation, he can still keep most or all the meat for himself or his family without being accountable.

    The above is a summary. I have not delivered the detail on each of the conditions and requirements, there are also additional conditions and requirements which I have not mentioned. I have covered the main areas as relevant to is in the west. Eg the masa’il of buying animals and slaughtering yourself etc have not been touched upon. May be on another occasion, if Allah ﷻ gives me the tauwfeeq,
    انشآء الله تعالى

    Allah ﷻ & His Rasool ﷺ know best.

    (Please also note that my reference to large organisations and charities is general. I am not in anyway casting doubt on any individual organisation but simply educating the necessity to exercise caution in these matters)

    By Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin

  • Question

    How would it work if you give Qurbani through a charity. How would you know when the Qurbani is given and when can you cut nails and hair etc.

    Sorry probz a silly question 🙈 Thank you

     

    Answer

    Charities are a big problem… Please take the time to read my upcoming post….

    However in answer to your question, you would have to contact the organisation to find out which day of Eid (1,2 or 3) your qurbani will be done and you can cut your hair and nails on that day.

    The trouble is that firstly you probably won’t get a response because many of these organisation don’t fulfil the requirements of qurbani. They should have a record of all the people who have instructed qurbani so they can include this identity in their niyya at time of slaughter, those organisations that don’t do this or don’t even record the relevant details will therefore not be able to give you that information of which day your particular sacrifice will be done. Secondly if you do get response, how legitimate and reliable will that response be in light of the lack of information they have in recording who’s qurbani is being done when!

     

    A very big problem overall because if the conditions of qurbani are not met, your wajib is not fulfilled and it is the responsibility of the individual to ensure his or her qurbani is done correctly like making sure your Salah is read properly, or your hajj done properly or your zakat paid properly or any other wajibat of deen.

     

    Please read upcoming article/post.

     

    Allah ﷻ & His Rasool ﷺ know best.

     

    Answered By: Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin

  • Question: If someone has given Qurbani in their name  to Pakistan or Saudi are they now not allowed to cut their nails , head hair……

    Or is this just for the person on hajj or is this for just the person actually doing the slaughter?

     

    Answer: This is for everyone. It is recommended and rewarding if you don’t cut hair or nails or remove any hair from the body until the sacrifice has been done. However if an individual does cut/remove hair or cut nails then it is not a sin.

     

    Answered by Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin

Back to top