• Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Totally Chocolatey Haram?

    Yes these are Haram
    Read more

  • Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Chewy Marshmallow Haram?

    Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Chewy Marshmallow Haram

    It is Haram – as it has pork gelatin.
    Read more

  • Halal is an Arabic word, which means permissible, In connection with food, it means food that Muslims are permitted to consume under Islamic Shariah Law. In addition to this lexical and technical meaning the word is loaded with overtones of provided by God, Tayyab (wholesome, good); as the opposite of Haram, which means prohibited by God, (unwholesome, foul). Halal and haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. However, in this article the term will be used only in relation to meat and food products. This means that any meat that has not been rendered Halal by Islamic slaughter or any food that is liable to cause ill health, (e.g. decomposing meat, or food unfit for human consumption) cannot be considered Halal, wholesome or good Tayyab.

  • 1. Meat from swine – pork, ham, gammon, bacon, etc

    2. Pork-based products and by-products – sausages, gelatine etc

    3. Animals improperly slaughtered, or already dead before slaughtering is due to take place

    4. Animals killed in the name of anyone other than Allah.

    5. Intoxicants

    6. Most carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears (i.e. snakes, reptiles, worms, insects etc.)

    7. Blood and blood by-products

    8. Foods contaminated with any of the above products

    While many things are clearly halal or clearly haram, there are some things which are not clear. These items are considered questionable or suspect and more information is needed to categorise them as halal or haram. Such items are often referred to as Mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable. Food falling into this category should be treated as haram until you know otherwise.

Back to top