Blog

  • List of animals that are Halal and Haram

    In the name of Allah, Most Compassionate, Most Merciful,

    Islam is a religion of mercy and compassion. It only commands and prohibits that which is in the best interests of the human being. The human mind however, due to it being very limited and restricted, may not be able to understand the logic behind every ruling. It may not be able to comprehend properly why a particular ruling is given, but Allah Most High- the Merciful and All-Knowing- is the best to decide what is beneficial and harmful for us, for He is the one who created us.
    Read more

  • This is a question that comes up once in a while. Let us take the time to provide a thorough analysis. In Islam, Halal means ‘lawful’ or ‘permitted’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. In the same way, haram means ‘unlawful’ or ‘prohibited’ and refers to all matters of life, not just food. So it is proper to refer to pure foods, marriage to a cousin, having marital relations during the nights of Ramadan, etc. as being Halal. In the same light, it is proper to refer to pork, marriage to your sister or brother, hunting while in the Sacred Precincts or in Pilgrim garb (for Haj or Umrah), shameful deeds, etc. as being haram.

    When it comes to meat and poultry, Muslims also use the term Zabiha (Dhabiha) to refer to meat from a Halal animal slaughtered by a Muslim in the prescribed Islamic way. (Meat from haram animals does not become Halal, even if it is slaughtered in the prescribed Islamic way. And a Muslim would never slaughter a haram animal.)

    Kosher is a term

    Islam prohibits all intoxicants, including alcohols, liquors and wines, whereas Judaism regards alcohol and wines as Kosher. Hence Kosher foods may contain alcohol. If they do, they are haram.
    Gelatin is considered Kosher by many Jews regardless of its source of origin. For Muslims, if gelatin is prepared from swine it is haram. Even if gelatin is prepared from cows that are not Zabiha, many scholars consider it haram.
    Kosher practice does not require Jews to pronounce the name of God on the animals while slaughtering, but Muslims must pronounce the name of ALLAH on all animals while slaughtering.

    There may be other differences between Halal and Kosher that make the Kosher questionable for Muslims to consume.

    These differences may seem minor to some. However, indulging in haram is a very serious offense against ALLAH and the punishment may be severe. Consuming alcohol or pork is a clear violation of ALLAH’s commandments and should not be taken lightly. The pronouncement of the name of ALLAH at the time of slaughter is also a major act of worship and obedience. Remembering and pronouncing the name of ALLAH is very dear to Muslims and it is required at the time of slaughter.

    And ALLAH, Subhanahu wa ta’ala, knows best.

  • Is Cheese Halal or Haram? The Question of Rennet

    I have found three opinions concerning cheese made with animal rennet.

    Q1) One is that since the rennet is haram, the cheese is haram.

    Q2) Another is that since the rennet doesn’t remain a part of the cheese- it is only used to separate the curds from the whey, the cheese is halal.
    Read more

  • Is Nutella Halal?

    • Over 50 Hazelnuts per 13 oz. Jar
    Read more

  • Coke Cola -The Myth

    Halal. With reference to Coca Cola Telegraph article, you may ring Coca Cola direct on 0800 227711

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/…/Coca-Cola-recipe…

    This is the Coca Cola reply from the Web site for the alcohol rumour:

    Read more

  • Is Muller Rice – Apple Sauce Halal?

    Please see below:
    Read more

  • Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Totally Chocolatey Haram?

    Yes these are Haram
    Read more

  • Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Chewy Marshmallow Haram?

    Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Chewy Marshmallow Haram

    It is Haram – as it has pork gelatin.
    Read more

  • Halal is an Arabic word, which means permissible, In connection with food, it means food that Muslims are permitted to consume under Islamic Shariah Law. In addition to this lexical and technical meaning the word is loaded with overtones of provided by God, Tayyab (wholesome, good); as the opposite of Haram, which means prohibited by God, (unwholesome, foul). Halal and haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life. However, in this article the term will be used only in relation to meat and food products. This means that any meat that has not been rendered Halal by Islamic slaughter or any food that is liable to cause ill health, (e.g. decomposing meat, or food unfit for human consumption) cannot be considered Halal, wholesome or good Tayyab.

  • 1. Meat from swine – pork, ham, gammon, bacon, etc

    2. Pork-based products and by-products – sausages, gelatine etc

    3. Animals improperly slaughtered, or already dead before slaughtering is due to take place

    4. Animals killed in the name of anyone other than Allah.

    5. Intoxicants

    6. Most carnivorous animals, birds of prey and land animals without external ears (i.e. snakes, reptiles, worms, insects etc.)

    7. Blood and blood by-products

    8. Foods contaminated with any of the above products

    While many things are clearly halal or clearly haram, there are some things which are not clear. These items are considered questionable or suspect and more information is needed to categorise them as halal or haram. Such items are often referred to as Mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable. Food falling into this category should be treated as haram until you know otherwise.

Back to top