Alcohol

  • S. Korea’s top kids beverage earns halal certificate

    SEOUL, April 19 (Yonhap) — Paldo Co., a local food company, said Thursday it has earned a halal certificate for its kids drinks as it moves to bolster overseas sales.

    Pororo Drinks recently gained certification from the Indonesian Council of Ulama, or MUI, marking the first such case for beverage products targeting children, the company said.

    Halal food refers to products that are prepared in a specific way according to Islamic Sharia law, which covers not only meat but also fruits and vegetables.

    Launched in 2007, the kids beverage brand is currently exported to some 40 countries with an annual revenue of 50 billion won (US$47 million) as of last year, according to the company.

    Paldo said Pororo Drinks is the No. 1 product in South Korea’s kids beverage market, with half of the earnings coming from overseas. The company aims to raise the proportion to 60 percent in the near future.

    The company said the size of Indonesia’s beverage market is estimated at $5 billion as of 2016, up 60 percent from 2012.

    Sales of Pororo Drinks in the Southeast Asian country came to 5 billion won in 2017, accounting for 20 percent of total overseas sales, Paldo said.

  • Working a supermarket where they sell Alcohol

    Recent question answered on working a supermarket where they sell alcohol

    السلام عليكم ورحمة اللهِ وبركاته

    Whilst Working for a non Muslim who sells alcohol as part of his business or haram meat, it is permissible in shariah for you to handle it for selling e.g. at a checkout etc, as part of your employment with the non Muslim. Non muslims are ghayr mukallaf and not bound by shariah and since you are employed by the non Muslim, you are obliged to do whatever the owner requests. As long as the selling of alcohol is not the main business.

    You are not profiting from the sale of the alcohol/haram but are simply handling it as part of your employment duties.

    This is the position of Imam Azam Abu Hanifa.

    Allah ﷻ & His Rasool ﷺ know best.

    By Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin

  • White wine vinegar Halal or Haram

    Q: اسلام عليكم و رحمةالله وبركاته

    Is white wine vinegar allowed/halal?

    A: وعليكم اسلام

    White wine vinegar, as its name suggests is ‘vinegar’. Acetic acid. The ‘OH’ group of the alcohol has been oxidised to ‘OOH’ which is vinegar. Even though there may be trace amounts of the alcohol in the substance, it displays the qualities and characteristics of vinegar rather than wine.

    Consequently it has undergone a transformation which in Islam Law changes the ruling applied to it.

    So the ruling applied to the alcohol white wine, would be haram, but when the white wine undergoes a chemical transformation and results in the production of white wine vinegar, the ruling changes so that the new wine vinegar now becomes halal.

    Please note all vinegars (whether malt vinegar, rice vinegar, apple cider vinegar etc etc etc) are manufactured from an alcoholic base which would be haram to consume but once transformed to vinegar, it not only becomes halal but in fact this new product, the vinegar, is actually Sunnah!

    Allah ﷻ & His Rasool ﷺ know best.

    By Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin

  • Alcohol Flavourings and Vanilla Extracts Clarification

    Alcohol in Flavourings
    Most food products nowadays contain some type of flavouring – natural, artificial, or a combination of both. Many of these flavourings contain alcohol, which is used as a carrier or solvent for the flavouring.
    The actual amount of alcohol in the finished food product may vary, but it is usually around 0.5% or less, as the alcohol evaporates during the production process. Items such as drinks and ice creams can contain a bit more, since no evaporation takes place. Such a small amount of alcohol is not required to be declared on the ingredients declaration on the packaging of the product.
    The Foodguide follows the opinion of major contemporary Hanafi scholars including the venerable Mufti Yusuf Sacha of the UK (highly acclaimed foods expert) and Mufti Ashraf Usmani of Pakistan. The fatwa in our times is that synthetic alcohols (and all alcohol not sourced from dates and grapes) in foods and otherwise is pure (tahir), and permitted to use and consume on the conditions that:
    (a) it is not used as an intoxicant;

    (b) it is not used as intoxicants are used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little);

    (c) it is not used in an amount that intoxicates;

    (d) it is not used in vain (lahw).

    Courtesy: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani
    This verdict applies to alcoholic flavourings only (based on need and necessity and common predicament) and not where alcohol is added as an ingredient in a product. In that case, regardless what the source of the alcohol is, it is not permissible.
    The verdict of many contemporary ‘Ulama is based on sources of Hadith which infer that alcohol from dates and grapes are regarded as Khamr (intoxicants categorically mentioned in the Qur’aan), and that other alcohols will not be termed as ‘khamr’ in the technical sense and thus not impure.
    The Hadith from Sahih Muslim, Abu Dawud, Tirmizi, Nasai, Ibn Majah says that Rasulullah Sallallahu Alaihe Wasallam said:
    “Khamr is from these two trees: dates and grapes”.

    (I’laus sunan Vol.18 Pg.26)
    This is the view propounded by the Foodguide service and rest assured that it is of sound Hanafi scholarship.
    Nevertheless, if you are a follower of a Maz-hab (school of thought) other than the Hanafi School or you prefer to refrain from such products on the basis of Taqwa, then that will be praiseworthy.
    We will try to facilitate such persons by indicating which products are affected on this web-site as far as possible. You should contact the company before consuming as alcohol flavouring is a common process.
    Alcohol Extracts Clarification
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vanilla_extract

    “Vanilla extract is a solution containing the flavor compound vanillin as the primary ingredient. Pure vanilla extract is made by macerating and percolating vanilla beans in a solution of ethyl alcohol and water. In the United States, in order for a vanilla extract to be called pure, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration requires that the solution contains a minimum 35% of alcohol and 13.35 ounces of vanilla bean per gallon.[1] Double and triple strength (up to 20-fold) vanilla extracts are available.

    Vanilla extract is the most common form of vanilla used today. Mexican, Tahitian, Indonesian and Bourbon vanilla are the main varieties. Bourbon vanilla is named for the period when the island of Réunion was ruled by the Bourbon kings of France; it does not contain Bourbon whiskey.

    Natural vanilla flavoring is derived from real vanilla beans with little to no alcohol. The maximum amount of alcohol that is usually present is only 2%-3%. Also on the market is imitation vanilla extract, a wood by-product usually made by soaking alcohol into wood which contains vanillin. The vanillin is then chemically treated to mimic the taste of natural vanilla.”

    This is a Tescos Email Seasoning Supplier response.

    Paprika Extract – Solvent Extraction

    Yeast Extracts: Yeast 1 is autolysed using heat, the insoluble portion is extracted using centrifugation, leaving the soluble portion of the yeast.

    Yeast 2 is not extracted as such and is classed as a whole autolysed yeast. The live yeast is heated with salt so the yeast plasmolyses and then the whole mixture is dried over heated rollers.

    There are no solvents or alcohols used in either process.

    Based on the above information I’m not certain that we could say that this product is suitable for you; the Yeast Extracts are ok, however the Paprika Extract ingredient supplier hasn’t specifically confirmed that alcohol isn’t used only that a ‘solvent extraction’ process is used.

    However, even if any alcohol was present via the Paprika Extract it would only be at an exceptionally low level (i.e. trace) in the finished product.

    If alcohol is used in extraction of the seasoning extracts, it would be at trace level, which is something around 0.001 percent.

    Hope this helps.

    —–End of Email—

    “It is not permissible for a person to consume such bread or biscuits (whose dough was made using alcohol). However, it will be permissible to consume them if it cannot be avoided because of the presence of certain narrations [in the Hanafi Madhab].

    (Imdadul Fatawa 4:118)2

    Majmu’ Rasaail Saqqaaf (pg. 549)

    Without doubt, alcoholic extracts or otherwise derived from dates or grapes are Haraam and filthy. However, alcohols which are derived from other substances are pure. The Ulamaa have ruled on this view because of necessity or public predicament (Umoom-e-Balwa.)
    Flavourings from dates and grapes?
    Alhumdulillah, to date from over 15 years of experience in the field, we have yet to come across flavourings sourced from dates and grapes in the UK market.
    We don’t issues fatwas at the drop of the hat, but pertinent information is necessary for a decision. Furthermore, we do not charge the companies or consumers for this service, it is totally a Lillah service.

    To summarise:
    Alcoholic Flavourings: They are permissible due to necessity and public predicament as they are so widely used in the food industry.
    Alcohol Extracts e.g. (vanilla, yeast and others): They are permissible due to necessity and public predicament as they are so widely used in the food industry.

  • Is RedBull Haram?

    Here is what reply I got from Red Bull UK:

    “Thanks for getting in touch about this.

    I can 100% confirm that Red Bull contains no animal derivatives and that all ingredients are synthetically produced and are not extracted from any animal source (so the bull’s urine myth is completely untrue!)

    Taurine is a conditionally essential amino acid, which naturally occurs in the body of all mammals (including humans.) However, the Taurine that is contained in Red Bull is synthetically produced and contains no animal extracts or derivatives, therefore it is suitable for consumption by
    vegetarians and vegans as well as being certified as Halal and Kosher by the relevant federations.

    The wikipedia information relates to Taurine in general and the majority of the information (particularly about where it comes from) does not apply to the Taurine in Red Bull.

    Best regards
    Red Bull UK”

  • Are Schloer Drinks Halal or Haram?

    Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:
    Alcohols used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.
    Alcohol Flavourings Clarification

    The following are permissible

    Shloer Apple & White Grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Cranberry & Raspberry juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Rose Grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Red Grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer White Grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Elderflower & White Grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Red Grape Light juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer White Grape Light juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Mango & Passionfruit Light juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer Pink Bubbly grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Shloer White Bubbly grape juice drink Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Elderflower Cordial
    Bottlegreen Apple & Plum Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Strawberry Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Spiced Berry Cordial
    Bottlegreen Summer Raspberry Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Pomegranate & Elderflower Cordial
    Bottlegreen Ginger & Lemongrass Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Coconut & Lime Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Blossom Cottage Morello Cherry Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Blossom Cottage Elderflower Cordial (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Elderflower Sparkling
    Bottlegreen Cox’s Apple Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Elderflower & Elderberry Sparkling
    Bottlegreen Pomegranate & Elderflower Sparkling
    Bottlegreen Mango & Coconut Sparkling
    Bottlegreen Summer Raspberry Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Ginger & Lemongrass Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Lemonade & Mint Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Ginger Beer Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Raspberry Lemonade Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Elderflower Tonic Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Pomegranate & E’flower Tonic Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Classic Indian Tonic Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)
    Bottlegreen Classic Indian Tonic Light Sparkling (Alcoholic Flavourings)

  • Is drinking a beverage with small traces of Alcohol Haram?

    The Prophet (Allah bless him and grant him peace) said, “Every intoxicant is considered a type of wine, and all types of wine are unlawful (Ibn Hibban no. 5354).” What is unlawful to consume and are considered to be filth are liquid intoxicants (muskirat). This ruling applies to those that are ethyl and methyl based alcohols. Isopropyl alcohols, the type used when a the nurse wipes the area where one would be getting a shot or extracting blood, is excluded from this ruling. Beer, wine and other consumed alcohols fall under this ruling and are considered filth as well in the Shafi’i school. This unlawfulness applies to even one drop of a liquid intoxicant (see I’ana al-Talibin).

    Read more

  • Is there a difference between Wine and Beer Islamically?

    The short answer is yes, Imam Abu Hanifa did make a distinction between wine and beer with respect to legal categorization and some rulings, yet in any case, beer as consumed today is impermissible and sinful.

    Read more

  • In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

    1. Meat
    2. Haraam Animals
    3. Halaal Animals
    4. Takeaways & Eating Out
    5. School/Airline & Hospital Food
    6. Fish
    7. Vegetables
    8. Cheese
    9. Gelatine
    10. Alcohol
    11. Processed food & E numbers Tabdeel-e-mahuyat
    12. GM Foods
    13. Glossary of terms

    Read more

  • If I have drank Alcohol, is it true my prayers will not be valid for 40 days?

    There are a few narrations similar to what you have mentioned. The Prophet (Allah bless him and give him peace) said, “Whoever drinks wine, his prayer is not accepted from him for 40 days. If he repents, Allah forgives him…” [Tirmidhi]

    Read more

Back to top