White wine vinegar Halal or Haram

Q: اسلام عليكم و رحمةالله وبركاته

Is white wine vinegar allowed/halal?

A: وعليكم اسلام

White wine vinegar, as its name suggests is ‘vinegar’. Acetic acid. The ‘OH’ group of the alcohol has been oxidised to ‘OOH’ which is vinegar. Even though there may be trace amounts of the alcohol in the substance, it displays the qualities and characteristics of vinegar rather than wine.

Consequently it has undergone a transformation which in Islam Law changes the ruling applied to it.

So the ruling applied to the alcohol white wine, would be haram, but when the white wine undergoes a chemical transformation and results in the production of white wine vinegar, the ruling changes so that the new wine vinegar now becomes halal.

Please note all vinegars (whether malt vinegar, rice vinegar, apple cider vinegar etc etc etc) are manufactured from an alcoholic base which would be haram to consume but once transformed to vinegar, it not only becomes halal but in fact this new product, the vinegar, is actually Sunnah!

Allah ﷻ & His Rasool ﷺ know best.

By Shaykh Abu Yusha Yasin

Leave a Reply

Back to top