Is Irn-Bru Halal or Haram?

Some questions have been raised regarding the issue of the E Numbers.

Below are the official ingredients:

Carbonated water, sugar (carbohydrate), citric acid, flavourings (including caffeine and quinine), preservative (E211), colours (E110, E124), ammonium ferric citrate (0.002%)

E Numbers:

E124: Ponceau 4R

Food Red 7, CI 16255, Cochineal Red A

Origin:
Synthetic azo dye. See here for a background on azo dyes.

Function & characteristics:
Red food colour. Very soluble in water.

Products:
Many products.

Daily intake:
Up to 4 mg/kg body weight.

Side effects:
Since it is an azo dye, it may elicit intolerance in people intolerant to salicylates. Additionally, it is a histamine liberator, and may intensify symptoms of asthma. In combination with benzoates, it is also implicated in hyperactivity in children.

Dietary restrictions:
None; E124 can be consumed by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.

In conclusion this makes this item Halal

 

Answered By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram Team

Leave a Reply

Back to top