Are Skittles Halal or Haram?
UK Skittles contain E120 which is Haram
E120 is Cochineal, Carmine, Carminic acid (E120)
Carmine is the name of the colour pigment obtained from the insect Dactylopius coccus (old name Coccus cacti), that lives on cacti from the genus Opuntia. The insect is native to tropical South and Central America and produces the pigment as a deterrent against other insects. The pigment can be obtained from the body and eggs of the insect. It is still used as an organic ant-repellent.
This is a Haram ingredient in this product and not suitable for vegetarians
Answered By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram Team