Häagen-Dazs – Halal or Haram?

Response from them; please see below the email.

Subject: RE: Enquiry regarding Haagen Dazs Ice Cream
From: sg.haagen-dazs@genmills.com

Dear HalalorHaram Admin

Thank you for your email to us on the subject of “Enquiry regarding Haagen Dazs Ice Cream”.

We are pleased to inform you that although Häagen-Dazs is not specifically certified Halal, it is made under processes which meet very stringent sanitary and quality requirements.
The only animal products in Häagen-Dazs products are fresh cream, skimmed milk and egg yolk. None of our ingredients are derived from pigs. The gelling agent used in our products is plant based (pectin).

Muslims may wish to avoid Häagen-Dazs products containing alcohol for example Baileys ice cream and Häagen-Dazs Baileys Stick Bar products which contain less than 0.5% alcohol per 100 ml of product. For your information, some of our ice cream (e.g. Vanilla based) contain a very small amount of alcohol (0.20%) due to the flavor which is alcohol based.

Please be advised that ingredient labels of our products should always be read prior to consumption to determine content.

Hope this information is useful to you.
We look forward to your continued support of Häagen-Dazs.
Thank you

Best regards,
The Häagen-Dazs Team

Leave a Reply

Back to top