What are emulsifiers?

Some of the Emulsifiers found in canned and packaged food are sometimes made from an unlawful (haram) source(s). The following is a list of the codes and a brief description of the Haram emulsifiers (starting with the ‘E’ prefix) that should be avoided:

Code

Description

E120
Cochineal. Fatty acids and egg yolks of dried female insect Dactilopius coccus & 10% of carminic acid.
E140
Fatty acids and phosphates
E141
Fatty acids
E252
Waste animal and vegetable material
E422
Fatty acids, by-products in the manufacturing of soaps
E430
Fatty acids molecules
E431
Fatty acids
E470
Sodium, potassium and calcium of slats of fatty acids
E471
Glycerine and fatty acids
E472(a)
Acetic acid esters of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(b)
Lactic acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(c.)
Citric acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(d)
Tartaric acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E472(e)
Mono-diaceryltartaric acid ester of mono and di-glycerides of fatty acids
E473
Sucrose esters of fatty acids
E474
Lard (pig fat), tallow (hard animals fat), palm-oil and etc
E475
Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids
E477
Proplylene glycol esters of fatty acids
E478
Lactylated acid esters of glycerol and propene 1, 2 diol
E481
Sodium Stearoyl-2 lactylate
E482
Calcium Steasroyl-2 lactylate
E483
Stearyl Tartarate
E491
Sorbitan monostearate
E492
Sorbitan tristearate (span 65)
E494
Sorbitan mono oleate (span 80)

Answered By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram Team

Leave a Reply

Back to top