Read with a magnifying Glass!
Source: The GMWA Website:
With reference to Coca Cola Telegraph article, you may ring Coca Cola direct on 0800 227711
This is the Coca Cola reply from the Web site for the alcohol rumour:
This website also contains statements about dozens of rumours.
We stand by our list below, but we can’t take any email on this issue, due to the sheer volume. Please contact Coca Cola DIrect for a statement if you require.
Coca Cola Statement:
None of the products of Coca-Cola Great Britain contain ingredients derived from mammals. As some practicing vegetarians avoid fish products as well, it is important to note that some of our products contain minute traces of fish gelatine, which is used as a stabiliser for the beta-carotene colour. These products have been clearly labelled on the attached list.
Soft drinks products of The Coca-Cola Company are officially recognised as non-alcoholic beverages. However, ‘Schweppes’ Lemonade Shandy is an alcohol containing beverage and thus is appropriately labelled. The ingredients and manufacturing process used in the production of ‘Coca-Cola’ are rigorously regulated by government and health authorities in more than 200 countries which have consistently recognised the beverage as a non-alocoholic product. This includes countries where Islam is the major religion.”
‘Schweppes’ Lemonade Shandy – Alcoholic drink HARAM
The rest are Halaal according to information provided, however please note that Coca Cola has not responded to our question about alcoholic flavourings. Britvic, Rubicon and Libby’s drinks have clearly declared alcoholic flavourings.