Question: Are Kellogg’s Pop Tarts Halal?

Clarification: In all the following Kellogg’s Pop Tarts (Frosted Apple Blast, Frosted Bustin’ Berry, Frosted Chocotastic, Frosted Very Cherry and Frosted Strawberry Sensation) Beef Gelatine is part of the ingredient within this product.


(Source: Kellogg’s Website)
Our Verdict: Haram and Not Suitable for Vegetarians
Our View: According to the position we understand and hold to be true, the change gelatin undergoes is not sufficient to be considered “essential transformation”. Thus, gelatin from unslaughtered animals–as is the case with most gelatin in the West–is unlawful.

By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram Team

Leave a Reply

Back to top