Question: Are Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats Halal?

Products In Question: Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats Big Bite cereal, Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats Strawberry cereal, Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats Maple Brown Sugar cereal.


Clarification: “Gelatin, which is used in some of our products to provide texture, is derived from either beef or pork”
(Source: Kellogg’s Website)

Our Verdict: Haram and Not Suitable for Vegetarians

Our View: According to the position we understand and hold to be true, the change gelatin undergoes is not sufficient to be considered “essential transformation”. Thus, gelatin from unslaughtered animals – as is the case with most gelatin in the West–is unlawful. In this case there is a 50% chance it could be Pork Gelatine.

By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram

Leave a Reply

Back to top