Unilever Ben and Jerrys Ice Cream 2014 – Halal or Haram?

Unilever Statement follows:

This information has been provided to Foodguide UK in good faith using the most up-to-date information available .

We reserve the right to amend recipes as required and as such the information contained herein is subject to change.

IMPORTANT NOTE:   The information contained herein is applicable ONLY to Unilever products on general sale in the United Kingdom.  This information may not be applicable or relevant to the same products produced elsewhere in the world.

“NOTE:
All Ben & Jerry’s ice creams are suitable for Vegetarians, i.e. we do not use any meat products, including gelatine, etc.
We use the European Vegetarian Union logo on most of our flavours as the ingredients are all suitable for vegetarians and made using only free range eggs.
However, 5 of our current flavours have marshmallow / brownies / chocolatey baked goods that have been sourced from the US. Whilst these are suitable for Vegetarians, we don’t use the European Vegetarian Union logo on them. ” 

BEN AND JERRY’S 2014

The following are all Halal. The fatwa links are at the bottom with explanations.

None of the Ben and Jerry’s use calf (animal rennet).

Most of them use alcoholic flavourings

BEN&JERRY’S 150ml Fairtrade Caramel  Chew Chew
BEN&JERRY’S 150ml Fairtrade Chocolate Fudge Brownie
BEN&JERRY’S 150ml Cookie Dough
BEN&JERRY’S 150ml Fairtrade Strawberry Cheesecake
BEN&JERRY’S 150ml Fairtrade Chocolate Fudge Brownie FRO YO
BEN&JERRY’S 150ml Fairtrade The Vermonster
BEN & JERRY’S Fairtrade ‘Wich’ Impulse
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Cone Sweet Cone
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Smores
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Baked Alaska
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Caramel Chew Chew
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Cherry Garcia
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Chocolate Fudge Brownie
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Cookie Dough
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade  Chunky Monkey
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Vanilla
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Mint Choc Chunk
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Phish Food
“UK: BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Chocolate Fudge Brownie Frozen Yoghurt
IRE: BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Low Fat Chocolate Fudge Brownie”
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Strawberry Cheesecake
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Raspberry Brownie
BEN&JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade The Vermonster
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Fairtrade Fossil Fuel
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Clever Cookies
BEN & JERRY’S 4.5L Peanut Butter Cups
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Baked Alaska
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Caramel Chew Chew
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Chocolate Fudge Brownie
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Chocolate Macadamia
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Cookie Dough
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Half Baked
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Phish  Food
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Phish Food Frozen Yoghurt
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade The Vermonster
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Dough-ble Whammy Core
BEN&JERRY’S 500ml Fairtrade Karamel Sutra Core
” BEN&JERRY’S 500mL Fairtrade Chocolate Fudge Brownie Frozen Yoghurt

” BEN&JERRY’S 500mL Fairtrade Clever Cookies

” BEN&JERRY’S 500mL Fairtrade Peanut butter me up Core

” BEN&JERRY’S 500mL Fairtrade Blondie Brownie Core

” BEN&JERRY’S 500mL Fairtrade Peanut  cup

Calf Rennet Clarification:
Rennet per se, is not impermissible.
It is permissible to eat cheese which has rennet from calf rennet though
praiseworthy to refrain from due to a slight difference of opinion viz:

Is Whey Rennet Haraam?  (no!)


Alcoholic Flavourings Clarification:

Alcohols
used as a carrier for food colourings and flavourings are permissible
as long as they are not sourced from dates or grapes.

By: Shaykh Asif of Halal or Haram

Leave a Reply

Back to top