Alcohol Extracts Clarification

“It is not permissible for a person to consume such bread or biscuits (whose dough was made using alcohol).  However, it will be permissible to consume them if it cannot be avoided because of the presence of certain narrations [in the Hanafi Madhab].

(Imdadul Fatawa 4:118)2

Majmu’ Rasaail Saqqaaf (pg. 549)


Without doubt, alcoholic extracts or otherwise derived from dates or grapes are Haraam and filthy. However, alcohols which are derived from other substances are pure.  The Ulamaa have ruled on this view because of necessity or public predicament (Umoom-e-Balwa.)

Flavourings from dates and grapes?

Alhumdulillah, to date from over 15 years of experience in the field, we have yet to come across flavourings sourced from dates and grapes in the UK market.

We don’t issues fatwas at the drop of the hat, but pertinent information is necessary for a decision.  Furthermore, we do not charge the companies or consumers for this service, it is totally a Lillah service.

  To summarise:

 

Alcoholic Flavourings:  They are permissible due to necessity and public predicament as they are so widely used in the food industry.

 

Alcohol Extracts e.g. (vanilla, yeast and others): They are permissible due to necessity and public predicament as they are so widely used in the food industry.

Answered By: Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

Leave a Reply

Back to top